top of page
Search
  • JL

Studio II Class 5-6 Update

Updated: Apr 7, 2021

I made another concept sketch because I wasn't sure how far I can go with the first one, and I wasn't happy with the pose of it either. In my first drawing, the theme is the fallen dragon, and that limits the pose of the dragon -- it can only lie down. Plus, I am afraid it can't convey the whole story since I was trying to express a lot of information.

So, this concept art is simpler. Both characters are young and I just want to show their intimate relationship and happiness.

I'm still a bit unsure about my concept. So I sculpted the dragon head first, since I don't have to change it.


Preview of the scales and feathers.



Research


I am studying anatomy on reptiles. The skull of the dragon is based on the spinosaurus. The lips study made by @ domesticus1 on Twitter helped me understand the function and different forms of the soft tissue on dinosaur's jaws, and I will go with the lepidosaur one since my dragon has a folk tongue like snakes.

I want to show purity, combined with divine, heavenly feelings, and add a little bit of arousal. Roberto Ferri's oil paintings are my best inspirations. His works with winged peoples are emotional and alluring. I like them a lot, and I want to add three black wings for my little angel.

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page